A part of Indiaonline network empowering local businesses

Editor's Choice:

Home about administration

Share this on Facebook!

Administration of Uttar Pradesh


Want more stories like this?

Like us on Facebook to get more!

Administration of Uttar Pradesh

Uttar Pradesh is a large state and has seventy five districts which are comprised of eight hundred and twenty two blocks. There are more than one lakh villages and fifty two thousand panchayats. The administration is composed of District Collector or DC.

Admnistration in Uttar Pradesh

The state had been called the United Provinces during India’s Independence but was renamed as Uttar Pradesh post-Independence. However, in November 2000 the state was divided into Uttarakhand and Uttar Pradesh with the former comprising the hilly tracts of Pauri Gorhwal, Tehri Garhwal, Chamoli, Uttar Kashi, Almorah, Dehradun, Nainital, Pithoragarh, Bageshwar, Rudraprayag, Haridwar, Udham Singh Nagar and Champavati.

The capital of the state is Lucknow. The administration has the District collector or DC at the top of the administrative rung. He is assisted by the two ADCs who look after the general as well as development aspects of the districts. Along with the ADCs there is the SDM or the Sub Divisional Magistrate as also the Superintendent of Police or the SP. All these officers are in-charge of the district level functions and activities. All programs emanate from the District headquarters down to the village levels.

The district is divided into blocks and finally Panchayats to complete the three-tier state structure. The Gram Panchayat is genially comprised of a number of villages that come under one Gram Pradhan. The Zilla Parishad is the district level organization that administers to the rural areas.

The entire state of Uttar Pradesh falls under the jurisdiction of the Allahabad High Court Several districts put together form a Division which is headed by the Divisional Commissioner. Most of the top administrative offices of the district are from the Indian Administrative Services (IAS).

Uttar Pradesh shares its borders with Nepal and the Indian States of Madhya Pradesh, Chattisgarh, Jharkhand, Bihar, Haryana and Uttarakhand besides the National Capital Region of New Delhi.

The main divisions of Uttar Pradesh are Varanasi, Saharanpur, Moradabad, Mirzapur, Meerut, Lucknow, Kanpur, Jhansi, Gorakhpur, Faizabad, Devipatan, Chitrakoot, Basti, Bareilly, Azamgarh, Allahabad, Aligarh and Agra.

Almost half the districts of Uttar Pradesh have singular historic significance and the administration has made all out efforts to ensure the safety and security of the tourists, pilgrims and other visitors to these places having a historical religious or economic significance.

Government of Uttar Pradesh

The Governor who heads the state is its constitutional Supreme Authority who appoints the functional head or the Chief Minister. He in turn appoints his Council of Ministers for conducting the governance of the state. Interestingly, Uttar Pradesh has the greatest representation in the Lok Sabha because of its occupying the largest number of seats.

Bicameral Legislature

Uttar Pradesh has two houses of governance namely the Vidhan Sabha and the Vidhan Parishad or the Legislative Assembly and the Legislature Council. In fact, Uttar Pradesh is only one among six states of India.

The Uttar Pradesh Vidhan Parishad is the upper house or the Legislative Council and comprises one hundred members. On the other hand the Uttar Pradesh Vidhan Sabha is the lower house or the Legislative Assembly and has four hundred and three seats.

The Chief Minister as well as his Council of Ministers exercise tremendous legislative powers. There are three types of ministers in the two houses. These are the Cabinet Ministers, the Ministers of State as also the Deputy Ministers. These Ministers are assisted by the bureaucracy. At the top of the command post is the Chief Minister.

Governor of UPGovernor of Uttar Pradesh

Smt. Anandiben Patel
Anandiben Patel is the current Governor of Uttar Pradesh. She is former Chief Minister of Gujarat.

Positions Held:
Ministry of Education, Higher and Technical Education, Women and Child Welfare, Sports, Youth and Cultural Activities (1998–2007)
Ministry of Revenue, Disaster Management, Roads & Buildings Capital Project, Women & Child Welfare (2007–2014)

Council of Ministers in Uttar Pradesh

Shri Yogi Adityanath
Hon'ble Chief Minister

Home, Housing and Urban Planning, Revenue, Food and logistics, Civil Supplies, Food Safety and Drug Administration, Economics and Statistics, Mining and Minarals, Flood Control, Tax Registration, Jail, General Administration, Secretariat Administration, Confidential, Vigilance, Appointment, Personnel, Information, Electoral, Institutional Finance, Planning, State Property, Town Land, Uttar Pradesh Restructuring Coordination, Administrative Reform, Program Implementation, National Integration, Infrastructure,  Language, External Aided Project, Scarcity, Relief and Rehabilitation, Public service Management , Rent Control, Consumer Protection, Weights and Measures

Shri Keshav Prasad Maurya
Deputy Chief Minister
Public Works Department, Food Processing,Entertainment Tax, Public Enterprises

Dr. Dinesh Sharma
Deputy Chief Minister
Secondary Education and Higher Education, Science and Technology, Electronics, Information Technology

Shri Surya Pratap Shahi
Agriculture, Agricultural Education, Agricultural research

Shri Suresh Khanna
Parliamentary Affairs, Urban Development, Overall Urban Development, Urban Employment and Poverty Alleviation

Shri Swami Prasad Maurya
Labour, Employment, Coordination

Shri Satish Mahana
Industrial development

Shri Rajesh Agarwal

Smt. Reeta Bahuguna Joshi
Women's Welfare, Family Welfare, Mother and Child Welfare, Tourism

Shri Dara Singh Chauhan
Forest, Environment, Zoological Garden, Horticulture

Shri Dharam Pal Singh
Irrigation, Irrigation (Mechanical)

Shri S P Singh Baghel
Animal Husbandry, Minor Irrigation, Fisheries

Shri Satya Dev Pachauri
Khadi Village Industries, Sericulture, Textile, Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises, Export Promotion

Shri Ramapati Shastri
Social Welfare, Scheduled Castes and Tribal Welfare

Shri Jai Pratap Singh
Excise, Prohibition

Shri Om Prakash Rajbhar
Backward class welfare, Disabled people development

Shri Brijesh Pathak
Legislative, Justice, Conventional Energy Sources, Political Pension

Shri Laxmi Narayan Chaudhary
Dairy Development, Religious Affairs, Culture, Minority Welfare, Muslim Waqf and Haj

Shri Chetan Chauhan
Sports, Youth Welfare, Vocational Education, Skilled Development

Shri Shrikant Sharma

Shri RajendraPratap Singh (Moti Singh)
Rural engineering service

Shri SidharthNath Singh
Medical and health

Shri Mukut Bihari Verma

Shri AshutoshTandon
Technical Education, Medical Education

Shri Nand Gopal Gupta "Nandi"
Stamp and court fees, Registration, Civil aviation

Also Read: Police in Uttar Pradesh

Related Links

Are you a Business Owner?

Add the products or services you offer

Promote your business on your local city site and get instant enquiries