A part of Indiaonline network empowering local businesses

Editor's Choice:

Share this on Facebook!

Etawah District


Want more stories like this?

Like us on Facebook to get more!

Etawah District

Etawah district is located in the southwestern part of the state of Uttar Pradesh with headquarters at Etawah town. The district forms a part of Kanpur Division. Etawah district forms the northern boundary with the districts of Farrukhabad and Mainpuri, while the small extent of western border adjoins tahsil Bah of the Agra district. The eastern boundary is formed with the district of Auraiya, and along the south lie Jalaun and the district of Gwalior.


Places of Worship : Tixi Temple, Jains Temple, Nilkanth Temple, Kaaliwahan Temple, Pakka Talab Masjid, Gurudwara - Etawah, Pilua Mahaveer Temple, Mahakaleshwar Temple, Lord Shiva Temple, St. Mary Church.

Natural site : Chambal National Sanctuary.

Historical Places : Bhareh Ka Qila, Lakhna Qila, Moonjh, Bais Khwaja.

Facts & Figures

Area2434 sq. km
Latitude26° 47" North
Longitude72° 20" East
Average rainfall792 mm
TemperatureMax.: 42 °C; Min.: 3 °C
Postal Code206001
STD Code05688

How to Reach

By Rail : The Delhi-Howarah mainline of the northern railways enters the district at Balarai railway station and after traversing 35 Km in the east it reaches Etawah railway station. There are 6 railway stations in the district, Sarai Bhupat (8 Km.), Jaswantnagar (16 Km.) and Balrai (26 Km.) to the west and Ekdil (10 Km.), Bharthana (19 Km.) and Samho (28 Km.) to the east of Etawah. It takes around two hours by train from Kanpur to Etawah.

By Road : The headquarters town Etawah is linked to adjoining districts viz. Gawlior, Agra, Farrukhabad, Mainpuri, Kanpur and Jalaun by well maintained roads.

Distance chart

Agra120 km
Kanpur165 km
Mainpuri60 km
Gwalior125 km

Related Links

Are you a Business Owner?

Add the products or services you offer

Promote your business on your local city site and get instant enquiries