A part of Indiaonline network empowering local businesses

Editor's Choice:

Share this on Facebook!

Kannauj District


Want more stories like this?

Like us on Facebook to get more!

Kannauj District

Kannuj is one of the newly created districts of Uttar Pradesh with headquarters at Kannauj town. The district was carved out of the erstwhile Farrukhabad district on September 18, 1997. It forms a part of Kanpur division.

The district is bounded by the districts of Farrukhabad to the north, Hardoi to the northeast, Kanpur Nagar to the east, Kanpur Dehat to the southeast, Auraiya to the south, Etawah to the southwest, and Mainpuri to the west.


Archeology Museum, Lakh Bahosi Bird Sanctuary, Gauri Shankar Temple - Kannauj City, Annapurna Temple - Tirwa, Kannauj.

Facts & Figures

Date of Formation 18/09/1997
Area 2129.2 sq. km
Latitude 27° 13’30” N
Longitude 79° 19 to 80° 1 E
Population (2001) 1,385,227
Males 741,380
Females 643,847
Population density 695 per sq. km
Sex Ratio 868
Literacy Rate 62.57%
No. of Tehsil 03
No. of Blocks 07
No. of Villages 754
Postal Code (Kannauj) 209725
STD Code 05694


Related Links

Are you a Business Owner?

Add the products or services you offer

Promote your business on your local city site and get instant enquiries