A part of Indiaonline network empowering local businesses

Editor's Choice:

Share this on Facebook!

Mathura District


Want more stories like this?

Like us on Facebook to get more!

Mathura District

Mathura is an administrative district of Uttar Pradesh with its headquarters located at Mathura town. The district is bounded on the northeast by Aligarh District, on the southeast by Hathras District, on the south by Agra District, and on the west and northwest by Haryana state. The district is part of Agra Division.

Mathura, the birth place of Lord Krishna is located on the western bank of river Yamuna. It remained as a hub of Indian culture and civilization for about 3000 years. The city has a long glorious history.


Mathura - Shri Krishna Janma Bhumi, Jama Masjid, Vishram Ghat, Dwarkadheesh Temple, Gita Mandir, Govt. Museum.

Vrindavan - Govinda Dev Temple, Shahji Temple, Rang Ji Temple, Madan Mohan Temple, Krishna Balram Mandir (Iskcon Vrindavan ), Radha Ballabh Temple, Gopi Nath Temple, Glass Temple, Nidhi Van, Seva Kunj, Banke Bihari.

Goverdhan - Kusm Sarovar, Jatipura. Barsana, Nandgaon, Gokul, Mahaban, Baldeo.

Facts & Figures

Area3329.4 sq. km
Latitude27°41 N
Longitude77°41 E
Population (2001)2,069,578
Population density621 per sq. km
Sex Ratio841
Literacy Rate63.38%
No. of Tehsil03
No. of Blocks10
No. of Villages886
Average rainfall650 mm
TemperatureMax.: 45°C; Min.: 4.2°C
Postal Code281001
STD Code0565

How to Reach

By Air : Nearest airport is Kheria (Agra), 62 km away from Mathura.

By Rail : Mathura is on the main lines of the central and western railways and is connected with all the major cities.

By Road :
Mathura is well connected by motorable roads to important tourist centres in and around Uttar pradesh. Taxis, Tongas and Cycle rickshaws are available for local transportation.


Related Links

Are you a Business Owner?

Add the products or services you offer

Promote your business on your local city site and get instant enquiries