A part of Indiaonline network empowering local businesses

Editor's Choice:

Share this on Facebook!

Saharanpur District


Want more stories like this?

Like us on Facebook to get more!

Saharanpur District

Saharanpur district attained the status as Saharanpur division in 1997. As regards its physical features, the north and the north east of the district is surrounded by Shivalik hills and separates it from the Dehradun district.

The river Yamuna forms its boundary in the west which separates it from Karnal and Yamunanagar districts of Haryana. In the East lies the district of Haridwar which was the part of district Saharanpur before 1989 and in the south lies the district Muzafarnagar. At the time of the British Rule District Muzafarnagar was also a part of district Saharanpur. The district is in a rectangular shape.

The main characteristics of the district can be divided into four parts.
  1. Shivalik hill tract
  2. The Bhabar land
  3. Bangar land
  4. Khadar land (Yamuna, Hindon)

Important Rivers

Yamuna is the important river of the district. Apart from this Solani, Hindon, Ratmau, Nagdev have also played an important role in the physical reconstruction of the district. All the rivers of the district submerge either in Yamuna or in the Ganges.


The climate of Saharanpur resembles the average climate of Uttar Pardesh in general.


Shakti Peeth Shakumbari, Shakti Peeth Deoband, Guggha Veer / Gughal, Nau Gaza Peer, BADA Shri Lal Das.

Facts & Figures

Year of FormationApr-97
Area3689 Sq. K.M.
Latitude29° 34' 45" & 30° 21' 30" north
Longitude77° 9' & 78° 14' 45" east
Population (2001)2,848,152
Population density772 Per Sq. K.M.
Sex Ratio868
Literacy Rate62.61%
No. of Sub-Division04
No. of Tehsil04
No. of Blocks11
No. of Villages1607
Average rainfall901 mm.
Postal Code247001
STD Code01331

Related Links

Are you a Business Owner?

Add the products or services you offer

Promote your business on your local city site and get instant enquiries